top of page
Search
  • divyabandreddi

Self Portrait Denim Jackets

Updated: May 8, 2020



Self Portrait was created in response to the gap of fashion-focused wearable technology.


We have each created a design to reflect our own personal style through our jackets using techniques that we all worked to develop over the past semester.

 

DIVYA

My jacket's design was inspired by a popular internet trend in which people cut out areas on a denim jacket and replace them with a patterned fabric. By adding UV activated color-changing pigments, LEDs and fiber optics I hoped to enhance the existing aesthetic of the jacket.


The flower and bear patches change from white to color when exposed to UV light. The floral mesh panels contain embedded LEDs programmed to twinkle at different rates, whereas the stems of the flowers are lined with fiber optics.

All the LED's are sewn with conductive thread to blend into the embroidery.



This jacket was designed to be rechargeable and easily cleaned by removing the back flannel lining housing the electronics.

 

SOPHIE

I featured my artistic interpretation of the Solar System on the back of my jacket to display my idea of a self-portrait: what makes me, me? Working with the style of my thrifted denim jacket, I created a piece that conveys who I am through fashion.

The jacket has four different looks; daytime indoors, sunlit outdoors, nighttime and nighttime party. Each different lighting shows the different personalities of each planet and changes the aesthetics of the entire jacket. The different looks are created through the use of UV activated pigments, glow in the dark pigments and fiber optic bunches connected to LEDs.

What's your favorite look?

What Solar System could be complete without the asteroid belt? I made sure to include stitched beaded "asteroids" between Mars and Jupiter.


The inside of the jacket is equipped with fabric overlaying the electronics so the jacket can be worn comfortably and stress-free.

The microcontroller (Lilypad USB Plus) can be found hidden in the left front pocket of the jacket. The microcontroller is connected to a battery and houses an on/off switch so the LEDs powering the fiber optics can be conveniently turned on or off.


Each fiber optic bunch is hand-stitched onto each planet, and each planet and asteroid is hand-stitched onto the jacket. Special thanks to Summer for her hands on help in assembling the final jacket.


 

SUMMER


I created this jacket with the goal of making a simple, yet effective example of how textiles and technology can blend in the pursuit of new forms of expression. I also wanted this jacket to be a piece of clothing that was comfortable and easy to wear. My jacket features a central circle that represents celestial bodies, it reveals a moon in the dark and a sun in direct sunlight. I began with a thrifted denim jacket that fits my personal style. The final elements and design were inspired by Japanese sashiko embroidery and the spirit of feminist handicraft.



I painted canvas first with white paint, then UV reactive pigment, then glow in the dark pigment. I then stitched fiber optic strands around and into a pattern on the sun. These fibers connected to UV LEDs which create a moon within the sun when tuned on. The result was a jacket that dynamically changes with the wearers light environment.



I have also added an ATLAS patch to memorialize my time in this program and all that I have learned from my classes that I have had the privilege to take part in because of the multidisciplinary nature of the program. I am happy and sad to finish my degree at CU after such a difficult semester, both because of a persistent hand injury and the challenges of covid19, nonetheless I am excited to enter the working world.



My favorite part of this process was working with my team to develop techniques for weaving and embroidering fiber optics onto textiles then attaching them effectively to the jackets and LEDs. As well I have enjoyed continuing my focus in ways to remake existing objects. I hope to get the chance to continue to work with textiles as a medium for technology because these materials combined create a space with ample opportunity for innovation.



79 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page