top of page
Search
  • divyabandreddi

Week 9 Check In

Updated: Mar 18, 2020

Divya

This week I got a lot of my jacket done. I sewed on all the snaps, LEDs, and connections between them. I created the barrier between the wires and user out of flannel. I also soldered all the connections to the snaps, twinkle board, and flora.

All the connections were successful except for one flower on the left panel.

I also threaded my fiber optics through and Summer helped me shrink wrap the LED's to the fiber optics.

In the next week I plan to connect the fiber optics, fix the not working LED, and hopefully attach extra snaps to keep the flannel down.




 

Sophie

This week, I sewed my fiber optics onto each planet and coded my animation for my LEDs. Summer ordered tiny LEDs, so I decided to use those instead of my large ones, as they were both brighter and their size worked better to connect to our fiberoptics. We prototyped and figured out the best way to connect the LEDs to the fiber optics. I did this for one of my planets (Saturn) and was holding off heat shrinking the rest of the LEDs onto the other planets until I'm done with the sewing. I sewed all of the fiber optics onto the planets, but need to go back and fix a few because the fiber optics isn't in the right shape/I'm not happy with the sewing job.





Next Steps:

I need to fully finish sewing. I plan on finishing that tonight (3/12) and heat shrink each LED onto each planet tomorrow in the BTU. After this, I plan to start setting the planets onto the jacket and soldering my silicon wire to my LEDs.

 

Summer

This week I helped my teammates as they described. I also have done more sketching and have a tentative sketches and started building a prototype on some recycled denim. I wanted to do this just so I could play with the layout a little more before I start on my actual jacket. Coming up I will be helping Sophie finish her planet and led assembly along with hooking up her electronics and sewing her connections. I think Divya's jacket is pretty much done, she may want to still add a button of some kind to trigger the leds. I am really impressed by her work and am excited to make a video on its functionality.


 

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page