top of page
Search
  • divyabandreddi

Week 10 Check In



Divya

This week I worked on finishing up the fiber optic connections. Last week I just laid them out and used heat shrink to hold the LED up to the fiber optics. This week I connected them to snaps and to the Flora. The fiber optics made it so the jacket is not 100% washable because I have no way to remove some of the fiber optic connections.



Next week I plan to finishing all the sewing (sewing down fiber optic ends and extra snaps to hold fabric down). I also plan to attach my photochromic bear patch and check all the connection one more time, after which I should be all done.

 

Sophie

This week I finished sewing all of the fiber optics on my planets, sewed all of my planets onto the jacket and heat shrank LEDs onto most of the planet's fiber optics. When I stitched the fiber optics onto Mars, the fabric frayed so I had to cut/paint/stitch a new Mars. I re-did some of the planet's fiber optics over a few times to make sure everything looked the best it could. I also added the rings to Saturn.





Goals for next week:

Finish connecting all LEDs to fiber optics.

Finish stitching Saturn's rings in.

Calculate and plan what resistors I need to add to which LEDs.

Solder LEDs & resistors to respective pins on boards.


 

Summer

This week I've been helping Sophie attach her fiber-optics and planets to the back of her jacket. We had some setbacks adding the smaller planets to the jacket, but we re-made mars and were able to re-do some of the fiber optics that were too short to connect LEDs to. I have also been finishing my UV triggered patch, I plan on drawing on the leaf lines then painting the plant with the new green pigment I've bought. I will then paint on a glow in the dark layer and iron the patch so the paint can be washed. Once that is done, I can attach it to my jacket and add my fiber optics around it. I love quarantine! Its definitely nice to have a chance to focus on this entirely without other classes in between.


Goals for next week:

  • Finish Sophie's planets, attach the last 4 leds to fiber optics

  • Wire the jacket and secure everything so it doesn't poke the wearer or get damaged

  • Add meteors to Sophie's Jacket

  • Finish drawing/perfecting UV patch add it to my jacket

  • Make sure Divya adds her UV flowers


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page