top of page
Search
  • divyabandreddi

Week 2 Check In

Updated: Jan 29, 2020

Updates to project projection

We will each be composing our designs to express who we are individually


Divya


The sketch above depicts the design I will implement on the back of my wearable jean jackets. I plan to make the outline of the bear with fiber optics, so I kept the shape geometric and a thick stitch. The middle of the bear will be filled with different colored patches and when exposed to UV light, mountains will appear in the design. I choose this design because the mountains represent where I am from, Colorado and an object with a strong foundation. The bear represents a symbol I find luck in.


 

Sophie

During week 1 of the wearable jacket, I picked out and ordered my jacket from Etsy and planned and designed what I will add to the jacket. I am planning to paint all of the stripes on the arms, shoulders, collar, cuffs waistband and back with UV reactive paint. Each stripe will be painted with different colored paint that is white when not exposed to UV and turns color when exposed to UV. This will make it so when the jacket is indoors, all the stripes will be white and when the jacket is exposed to UV, the stripes will appear all different colors, changing the appearance and style of the jacket. I will also include fiber optics weaved into the seams on the pockets on the front of the jacket. Each fiber optic will be attached to an LED housed inside of the pocket. The back of the jacket is where my self-reflection will be displayed. I chose to express myself by painting a scene of space/the night sky. I will paint the entire back black and layer white, UV reactive, thermo reactive and flow in the dark paints on top with sponge brushes to create cloudy looking galaxies and nebulas. I will also include LEDs and glow in the dark paints to create a constellation. The majority of the back will be abstract paintings of the night sky, but I will include an actual constellation.



 

Summer

During this week I worked on further prototyping with our materials in different ways that could influence my design. My initial inspiration comes from celestial bodies as well as fireflies which illuminate in the darkness.

Sketches for designs on front and back of jacket.


The themes I am looking to explore in my design are metamorphosis with light. My plan is to make my jacket change according to the light of my environment as well as execute it in a way that makes the jacket feel alive.


Sophie modeling my shirt since it doesn't fit over my cast


I have purchased this denim work shirt which was $3 at a local thrift store but am still deciding if I would prefer a more traditional denim jacket. I have sourced some old jeans to experiment and prototype with. Through the next phase of prototyping, I hope to continue to explore my design in order to find the most effective way given our current materials.


 

See the "Week 2 Prototyping Notes" post for more information on our project

 

Week 3 Goals

-Test pigments and choose colors

-Stitch fiber optics (without attaching LEDs)

-Mini prototype of individual designs

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page